Remembering Kendra: The World of Giveaways and Prizes

Yesterday I was thinking about my former co-worker and friend Kendra. She is beautiful, funny, and had (probably still has) energy and enthusiasm that could rarely be matched!  That girl knew how to live and enjoy life!  Kendra are you reading?

Kendra & I often discussed our hair

I’ve been exploring the crazy world of giveaways. My friend L.G. told me that one way to increase blog readership is to participate in giveaways (we have a research project going on so I wanted to increase blog readership to get more study participants, otherwise I blog just for fun).  For those of you not in the know about giveaways – there is a whole world out there of mostly mom bloggers who review and giveaway products – all kinds of stuff for kids, household, garden, kitchen, trips, etc., etc., etc.  Most of the stuff is really good and/or useful, fun.  So what I’ve learned so far is that it requires you to be on FB and Twitter and to have a significant number of followers, you need a PayPal account, an active blog with a good number of followers, and often you need to use a program called Rafflecopter® that manages the giveaway entries.  You basically have a part-time job once you start blogging and joining in giveaways.  Yesterday I spent 2 hours just looking at all of the opportunities and trying to figure out how to use Rafflecopter.  I felt crazy…and then I remembered my former co-worker and friend Kendra.  Back before the internet, before cellphones & text messaging, before blogs, before any form of social media, Kendra was excited and obsessed with contests and giveaways.

Kendra would fill out (by hand) 3×5 cards with her name & address and mail them (via U.S. Postal mail in an envelope with a stamp – quaint huh?) to the party sponsoring the contest.  She would do this with great enthusiasm and religiously. It was amusing to watch and her excitement was quite contagious! But can you imagine sitting down and taking the time to hand-write hundreds of 3×5 cards and then mailing them out in an effort to win a prize?! I think she actually got to go on a show called Supermarket Sweep and she might of won a lipstick from Mac (my memory is kinda foggy but I know she did win something!).

I was complaining yesterday that I was getting confused by the instructions to join the giveaways (you have to fill out a form, post a comment on a blog, sometimes find a sponsor, pay $1-$5, follow someone on Twitter, “like” on FaceBook…) filling out 3×5 cards by hand seems so much simpler! Kudos to you Kendra for being a pioneer (in my eyes) back in the day before the onset of today’s technology that’s supposed to make winning prizes easier.

In the end, I’m on the fence about the giveaway world. It’s time consuming and with a full-time job, hubby, and toddler I’m not sure the payoff (more blog readers) is worth it.  But if you’re into winning free stuff and want to connect with a wide world of moms (and some dads too) then I encourage you to jump right in and join the world of giveaways.

The following shout-outs are unsolicited:

Here’s a small sample – Check out: Mom Giveaways, She Blogs, Mom Bloggers Club, and/or Mom Blog Society

There are also several bloggers that participate in giveaways, so if you follow their blog you can join in the fun: The Family That Laughs Together, Savvy Mommy, Family Focus Blog, Adventures of 8 (she’s my tribe chief),

4 thoughts on “Remembering Kendra: The World of Giveaways and Prizes

  1. That’s our Kendra, living life enthusiastically! Yes, I agree, there were some things that were easier “back in the day!”

  2. I LOVE IT!! It’s Kendra!! And yes, I still love a good giveaway 🙂

    In fact, in the giveaway spirit of “back in the day,” I would love to help you with your giveaway quest if you decide to go for it. I developed a product for kids (www.mixandmatchstack.com) and would be happy to give you 5 of them to give to your blog readers. Let me know if that sounds interesting!

    So excited to read your blog!

    xoxo
    Kendra

Leave a Reply

